Humor Monologue delivered at Toastmasters meeting – May 16, 2012

Before reading the monologue, read the setup – what happened during the meeting.

THE SET-UP (What was said and what happened during the meeting before the monologue was delivered.)

1. Gilbert, one of the guests, arrived 10-15 minutes late to the meeting. He said there was heavy traffic on the way and he had to fight with the highways to reach on time.

2. The table topics for the meeting was to open any page from the book named “overwachte ontdeklunger” – translates to Unexpected Discoveries in english – and talk about the pic on that page.

3. Andre was the first speaker. He talked about how it feels being home. He told a story in which he was far away from home and one day he got a call from his sister, who informed that his mom was sick.

4. Mei was the next speaker, she talked about fear. She gave many examples, like fear of public speaking, fear of unknown (new places, new people)

5. Zhou, on his speech, said that once his father told him, “Be nice to to others, and they’ll be nice to you”

6. Mei told that she has fear of pools since when she first tried swimming, she almost drowned.

THE MONOLOGUE

On my way to meeting this evening, I saw a crowd on the road, shouting, “Come on. Hit him. Hard!! That’s it!!” I pulled over the car to see who they were cheering up. They were cheering up Gilbert. He was fighting with the highways.

Today we came to know that a lot of people have fear of unknown (unknown people, places). But I have fear of known. If you have heard it as ‘known’, I repeat. I have fear of NOUN. When I hear nouns like “overwachte ontdeklunger”

One year ago, I was in London. It’s far away from my home. One day, I got a call from my brother. He informed me that mom got injured and sick. I asked him, “Why? What happened?” He said, “Mom was fighting with the highways.”

When I was a kid, my grandfather told me politely, “Be nice to others, and they will be nice to you.” I wanted to prove him wrong. I slapped him.

I am a great swimmer. But I still have fear of pools. One day, I dived in to a swimming pool from a height of 20 feet. There was no water in it.

I wrote a song about that incident. I named the song “Unexpected DisKolaveri”

Leave a Reply

