Humor Monologue delivered at Toastmasters meeting – June 26, 2013

Read the set-up below and then read the humor monologue.

THE SET-UP (What was said and what happened during the meeting before the monologue was delivered)

1. Marc was the table-topics master. He invited Navin (who was sitting to my left) and Mohammed (who was sitting to my right) to talk on some topics that he gave.

2. Navin’s table topic was “where would you want to go if you had time machine”. Navin told that he would go to his school, where a pretty girl gave him a box of chocolates on her birthday. He told that he wanted to relive that moment.

3. Chris, during his table-topics speech, recalled time machine thingy and told that he would time travel few hours in the past and be asleep in the bed. Chris, before starting his speech, told that we had some lovely topics… until this one of mine.

4. Roxana had hiccups couple of times during the meeting.

5. I gave a speech about the problem I had during childhood and even in college – Stuttering – and how I overcame that. Roxana evaluated my speech. She told that she was expecting my speech to be about the movie “The king’s speech” after looking at the title of my speech “I stammered”. My speech was for 7 minutes.

6. Jitske talked about body language. She told that keeping your legs in two different directions will help invite a 3rd person in your conversation.

7. Bogdan gave his icebreaker speech. He told that where you come from doesn’t matter. What matters is where you go. Mario evaluated Bogdan’s speech. He told that Bogdan told one sentence only halfheartedly.

8. Navin was the grammarian. He asked the audience to take deep breathe before the speech to give a nice speech. He asked me to use ‘at young age’ instead of ‘in young age’. He appreciated Peter’s use of ‘Time’ and ‘Theme’ in the same sentence. And also Bogdan’s use of ‘Where’, ‘Where’ rhyming in a sentence. He also commented about Jitske’s grammar that a sentence would at least need 3 words. Because of this detailed explanation, Bieneke wondered whether Navin is English teacher.

The Humor Monologue

1. *I pointed my legs in two different directions and told* Come join the conversation.

2. Good evening toastmasters, guests, and English teacher.

3. Hi Chris, can you wake up? if you are still sleeping in the past?

4. Because I am going to give the King’s speech. With quarter of my heart.

5. We had some nice, lovely speeches… until this one of mine.

6. Last week, I went to the train station to buy tickets. To be friendly, I started a conversation with the guy who was at the counter. I told him that I’m Indian, and I come from India. He told me that it doesn’t matter where I come from. What matters is where I go to.

7. At my young age, I participated in a fancy dress competition. I dressed like a girl. And gave a box of chocolates to Navin.

8. Marc invited Navin, who was at my left, and Mohammed, who was at my right, for the table-topics speech. Thanks for not inviting me. I’ll give you a box of chocolates.

9. Everybody has problems. I had stuttering. And my evaluator Roxana, hiccup. Maybe to cure that, she should drink… box of chocolates.

10. I stammered in my young age. Sorry, I stammered at my young age. And I wish that the only language in this world was body language.

11. During my next speech, I am going to take deep breathe. All 7 minutes.

12. The nicest sentence in English is “Where time Where theme, Time where Theme where.” Moreover it has 3 or more words. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

