Humor Monologue delivered at Toastmasters meeting – September 3, 2014

Read the set-up below and then read the humor monologue.

THE SET-UP (What was said and what happened during the meeting before the monologue was delivered)

1. Word of the day was ‘Happy’. The ah-um counter, who was Pierre, should count the number of times people use this word. But he forgot to count. When he said he didn’t count, everybody was disappointed since they used the word many times.

2. Floris’ speech topic was ‘Positive thinking’. He forgot his speech at many places. So he paused a bit to recall. And sometimes he looked at his notes to recall.

3. This was Floris’ 10th speech. He began his speech by saying ‘Thank you for listening to me for the 10th time in a row’.

4. I gave a prepared speech. I also gave an impromptu speech. Then I finally I gave this humor speech.

5. Last meeting’s theme was ‘Change’.

6. The hall where we normally meet was booked for some other function. So, we held our meeting in an empty restaurant in the same campus.

7. Normally in Toastmasters, we use sandwich method for evaluating speeches. i.e. first say what was good about the speech, then what could be better, then again what was good about the speech. Chris and Floris stressed this sandwich method of evaluation a lot.

8. Richard told that he knew his purpose of life when he was 3 years old. To invent lot of things.

9. There were dark clouds outside.

The Humor Monologue

1. I first gave prepared speech. Then impromptu speech. Now humor speech. Thanks for listening to me 3 times in a row. Today itself.

2. I knew my purpose of life when I was 1 day old. To eat.

3. I joined Toastmasters because someone told that they use sandwich method.

4. Last meeting’s theme was ‘Change’. And wow. What a change!! We are in a completely different location.

5. I am not sure if Floris’ speech topic is ‘Positive thinking’ or… just ‘Thinking’.

6. Floris and Chris stressed a lot on the sandwich method. Maybe that’s why we are here in a restaurant.

7. Look at the clouds outside. It’s dark. What it means is that earth is getting ready for ‘ice bucket challenge’.

8. Tonight, here, all the speakers got very good tips from the evaluators. But, here, during the day time, it’s the waitresses who get tips.

9. Pierre didn’t count word of the day for many people. They are not ‘Happy’.

4 responses

    1. Thanks for the suggestion. Will read at leisure.

  1. If you had bothered to check your page stats perhaps you would have noticed the hits from UAE.
    If you had bothered to check who you follow you would have seen you already followed me so I was quite clearly not trying to get you to follow me.
    It’s unfortunate that you think it is okay to falsely accuse people of things because you can easily hide behind your computer
    While it is your own business what you think, it is my business if you go around trying to pick fights on my page.
    I feel sad for you because you have so little faith in people genuinely wanting to read your blog and because you have nothing better to do than pick fights with strangers.
    If you think I am using some dumb strategy to get you to read my page, don’t fall for the so-called bait.

  2. It’s too damn bad that you did not bother to check your own website and see that people can read all your posts on your home page without clicking on individual posts.

    It’s also rather unfortunate that you do not believe that people look for new content to read because there are some really terrific bloggers out there. In your case I specifically looked for you because I remembered I liked something you wrote a long time ago.

    Perhaps you accuse people of going through wordpress reader and clicking on like because that’s what you do. Grow up and learn to check your facts before you blindly make accusations. All you are doing is making people wary of visiting new blogs for fear of encountering nasty comments.

Leave a Reply

