Humor Monologue delivered at Toastmasters meeting – February 24, 2016

Here is another Observational Humor monologue which was presented at the end of a Toastmasters meeting. First you’ll be able to read the set-up for each joke. Then I’ll share the joke. Next I’ll briefly comment on what made the joke work. Although the examples of Observational Humor are in the context of a Toastmasters meeting, the skills apply just the same to any meeting you might be attending. It’s a useful skill to develop. When you can drop in an observational line into any presentation it makes the content of your whole talk feel fresh and original.

THE SET-UP (What happened and what was said during the meeting before the monologue was presented)

1. One of the table-topics was “What would you change in your company if you were the CEO for 24 hours?”

2. Next meeting will be a Club Contest. To participate in that, one should’ve completed at least 3 speeches at club, announced Floris.

3. One of the topics was “New Year resolution”. And another topic was “What will you stop doing this year?” for which Ita said, “I want to do less (reduce TM responsibilities)”.

4. Netsanet gave her icebreaker speech. She said she’s nervous and her objective is to give a speech in front of an audience. Her evaluator, Pauline, while evaluating, moved forward closer to Netsanet and did the evaluation.

5. Netsanet was late by 30 minutes to the meeting. She said that she wants to be a good listener.

6. Mike talked about signs of interest. He told a story where a girl enters a bar, and shows signs of interest to a guy named Jim. She looks, looks away, looks, looks away to get his attention, then sways her hips in a form-fitting dress. Finally Jim falls for her.

7. One of the guests, Alex, was called to speak on a table topic. Floris said, “Alex, you don’t have to be perfect. Just behave as you are.”

8. I got married 10 days ago.

The Humor Monologue
1. Dear Toastmasters, [pauline sneezes when I say this line], fellow sneezers, today’s CEOs, and tomorrow’s non CEOs.
(Spontaneous line. Also call-back to the 24-hr CEO)

2. Floris, you should have introduced me as “Bala, you don’t have to be perfect. Just behave as Alex is.”
(Absurdity. Unexpected twist)

3. Floris said to everyone, “To participate in the club contest, you should’ve have done at least 3 speeches.” Floris looked at me up and down and said, “But, you, Bala, can participate if you’ve completed at least 3 words in your life.”
(Self deprecation. Exaggeration)

4. I was sitting next to Jim in the bar and made lots of signals. Jim didn’t notice me at all. I even swayed my hips in a form-fitting dress.
(Absurdity joke followed by a topper that’s a call-back to hip swaying)

5. When I give a speech, the audience normally show full signals of interest. Those signals are sleeping, walking out of the room, and throwing rotten tomatoes at me.
(Self deprecation. Twist)

6. What will I stop doing? I’ll stop getting married.
(Absurdity. Most people get married only once. Also self deprecation)

7. Netsanet, you want to be a good listener? Nice. But to listen to other speeches, you have to be early.
(Truth)

8. Ita’s New Year resolution is “I want to do less”. Even I had the same resolution. “I want to do Les… Leslie”.
(A blue joke that I could’ve avoided. But I couldn’t resist from using it because I liked the word play)

9. Netsanet’s objective was speaking in front of an audience. And seems her evaluator Pauline’s objective is speaking behind an audience. (since she moved all the way front, closer to Netsanet).
(Truth. Very good observation)

10. I am finishing my speech unless someone wants to sway her hips.
(Call back. Good closer)

Leave a Reply

