Humor Monologue delivered at Toastmasters meeting – May 18, 2016

Here is another Observational Humor monologue which was presented at the end of a Toastmasters meeting. First you’ll be able to read the set-up for each joke. Then I’ll share the joke. Next I’ll briefly comment on what made the joke work. Although the examples of Observational Humor are in the context of a Toastmasters meeting, the skills apply just the same to any meeting you might be attending. It’s a useful skill to develop. When you can drop in an observational line into any presentation it makes the content of your whole talk feel fresh and original.

THE SET-UP (What happened and what was said during the meeting before the monologue was presented)
1. One of the speeches was about coffee ad how it keeps one awake. The evaluator, Floris, said that coffee is his second favorite drink next to beer. At the last meeting, when he gave a speech, he was fully drunk.

2. The president announced that Bogdan, one of the club members, was featured in the last month’s TM magazine.

3. I talked on a table topic – Debate on why we need beach sand in the campus where we gather for TM meetings. The ah-um counter said that I used the filler word ‘and’ and connected almost all the sentences together.

4. I was the general evaluator and I said, “I am going to evaluate the meeting as a whole”. The grammarian said “meeting as a whole” is not correct use, and instead, I could use “summary of the meeting”

5. One of the guests, Scott, said that he watched his cousin speak in public very well. His cousin suggested Toastmasters to him, so he visited us as a guest.

6. One of the table topics was you’re stuck in an island alone. You need to escape, and how would you do. The speaker said that he’ll write “H.E.L.P” on sand, so that someone flying up could see.

The Humor Monologue
1. Good evening toastmasters, guests, and my cousin Scott.
(Call back to cousin. Drop into someone’s story. Rule of three)

2. And you are going to hear Observational Humor Sentence.. and…
(Callback to me connecting all sentences with ‘and’. So Observational Humor Sentence.)

3. Even if you drink 100 cups of coffee, you can’t stay awake, when I am giving a speech.
(Self deprecation)

4. I saw Bogdan in the TM magazine. He was posing next to sand to his right side where it’s written “H.E.L.P” Helllpppp.
(Paints a funny picture. That kind of picture getting featured in TM magazine is funny. Huge laughter.)

5. Okay okay. I’m just kidding. The sand was to his left side.
(Shift the focus. The focus was on “HELP”. Shift that to “right side”. Okish response.)

6. You can find me in a lot of pics where I’ve posed next to the text written on sand “H.E.L.P”. All those pics are on my wedding album.
(Paints a funny picture. Superiority theory – audience feel pity for me. I’ve been doing at least one marriage joke in the last 4 or 5 meetings.)

7. Yes, on that day, I debated on why I needed sand on the wedding hall.
(Perfectly matches the table topic that I talked on. Good callback)

8. My second favorite speaker is Floris. And my first favorite speaker is Floris… when he is drunk.
(Unexpected punchline. Best line of the monologue. Got huge laughter. Everyone noticed that Floris was drunk at the last meeting and hence this line made sense)

9. Jitske (the ah-um counter). You have hearing problem. I didn’t say ‘and’ ‘and’ ‘and’. I said, ‘sand’ ‘sand’ ‘sand’.
(Silly way to cover my mistake. Huge laughter.)

10. All of you, have a safe trip back home. And watch the ‘hole’.
(Callback to ‘whole’. Nice closer.)

Leave a Reply

