Humor Monologue delivered at Toastmasters meeting – June 29, 2016

Here is another Observational Humor monologue which was presented at the end of a Toastmasters meeting. First you’ll be able to read the set-up for each joke. Then I’ll share the joke. Next I’ll briefly comment on what made the joke work. Although the examples of Observational Humor are in the context of a Toastmasters meeting, the skills apply just the same to any meeting you might be attending. It’s a useful skill to develop. When you can drop in an observational line into any presentation it makes the content of your whole talk feel fresh and original.

THE SET-UP (What happened and what was said during the meeting before the monologue was presented)
1. The agenda was printed in landscape format, instead of portrait.

2. The general evaluator asked all people who perform special roles, like timer etc, to explain why their role is important and how it helps the speakers. She critiqued because nobody explained in that way.

3. Word of the day was ‘Break’. I was the word-of-the-day counter, but I forgot to count mostly. Every time a speaker said that word, they would remind me “I used break, man.”

4. Winslow talked about time traveling. He said he has time traveled to future 250 nano seconds. And he said that time traveling to past is impossible.

5. Winslow also said that like they show in the movies, time travelers are never naked in real.

6. I said that in India, in the past, weddings used to be a grand function that would go on for 30 days. But nowadays, it’s just one-day function.

7. Rens said that a lot of people thought he was gay, but he’s not. He said that in ancient Greece, the warriors used to be gays.

8. Tobias wrote something on his laptop which got projected on the screen, but his handwriting was very poor and nobody could understand anything. He talked about mentoring.

9. When Rens was speaking as Table topics master, one of the guests, a lady came, and occupied Rens’ seat. He called me, Marcel, Shane, and Justina for table topics speeches.

10. Winslow said the inspirational phrase “Let’s stick together” which was used by David Cameron.

11. One of the table topics was “Why do you believe in monogamy?”

12. Justina performed the role that Shane was supposed to to as per agenda. So she started her speech with the line, “Yes, you can call me Shane.”

13. Ana Maria gave her icebreaker speech. Her speech was very descriptive and nice.

The Humor Monologue
1. Mr. Toastmaster, fellow toastmasters, and honored guests.
(I didn’t deliver this line from stage, but I went to the side of the room)
To keep up with the landscape of agenda, I’m starting from this side of the room.
(Visual joke. Just used the agenda print format for my speech delivery. Good opener.)

2. My role as Observational Humor Master is to make you laugh. Laughing is good for your health.
(Sarcastic. I didn’t really have to tell that. It was to mock Justina, who said that it’s important for people to say how their roles help the audience.)

3. My speech is going to be for 3 minutes. For your own good, I advise you to time travel 3 minutes into the future.
(Self deprecation – asking the audience to miss my speech.)

4. Winslow, you said time traveling to past is not possible. Didn’t you see how Ana Maria, with her brilliant icebreaker, took all of us to her past?
(Truth. Praise [one of] the audience. Audience could relate to this.)

5. Word of the day is break. We also had sentence of the day, which our speakers used a lot. That sentence is… “I used ‘break’, man!”
(Absurd. Since lot of speakers said that sentence, I gave that sentence a new definition – “Sentence of the day”)

6. Even nowadays, 30 days of wedding is possible. I have to get married 30 times.
(Absurd – getting married 30 times. Also, this joke was like an equation – What should I do to make the wedding function go on for 30 days. I came up with the answer, break that 30 days by 30.)

7. Rens must be gay. Because all the table topics speakers he called were men. Bala, Shane, Marcel, and Justina. You may think Justina is woman. But then you can call Justina as Shane.
(Tension and release technique. When I added Justina to men’s list, it created tension. I released that tension with the silly line that Justina said before.)

8. Ancient Greek warriors were gays? Interesting. Usually gays are interior designers, and not exterior warriors.
(General myth about gays that they are interior designers. Okish line. I wouldn’t have used this line, but this acts as a setup for the next joke, so I kept it in the monologue.)

9. Tobias must also be gay, because I saw him writing in ancient Greek.
(Second best line of the monologue. Giving a new definition to his poor handwriting – ancient Greek writing. The ancient Greeks were gays info was not set on audience mind, so I used the last joke as setup and it’ll be fresh in their mind and enhance this joke. It worked perfectly.)

10. I have had 3 mentors. I don’t believe i monogamy.
(Since Tobias talked about mentor-mentee relationship, this line worked perfectly.)

11. To marry Rens, I don’t have to be gay. I have to be straight. Because Rens is a woman [pointed to the guest woman who was sitting in front of the name board – Rens]
(Absurdity – woman sitting with a man’s name written on the name plate. Unexpected punchline.)

12. I have good news and very good news. Good news is that when Winslow time traveled to future, I met him. Very good news is that he was not naked.
(The first part is not a joke. It increased the expectations for the very good news. When I used the link “Time travelers are never naked” for very good news, it brought immediate laughter. Best line of the monologue.)

13. Everybody, have a safe trip back home. And you, Rens, let’s stick together.
(Instead of inspirational “Let’s stick together.”, I used that for a romantic line, and it’s absurd because it would mean I’m gay. Perfect closer.)

One response

Leave a Reply

