Humor Monologue delivered at Toastmasters meeting – July 13, 2016

Here is another Observational Humor monologue which was presented at the end of a Toastmasters meeting. First you’ll be able to read the set-up for each joke. Then I’ll share the joke. Next I’ll briefly comment on what made the joke work. Although the examples of Observational Humor are in the context of a Toastmasters meeting, the skills apply just the same to any meeting you might be attending. It’s a useful skill to develop. When you can drop in an observational line into any presentation it makes the content of your whole talk feel fresh and original.

THE SET-UP (What happened and what was said during the meeting before the monologue was presented)
1. Since the weather was bad, the theme of the meeting was “The sun will come out”.

2. Toastmaster of the evening kept mispronouncing the guests’ names – Oana, and Shashi.

3. The table topics master, when he started speaking, started with the words, “Thank you for toastmastering. Now I’m going to be table topiking.”

4. The toastmaster of the evening made a lot of jokes with the phrase “Big Ball”.

5. Rens, a speaker, said that everyone is an expert at doing something.

6. Tobias gave an educational about evaluations. He asked the audience as to when the evaluation should start, for which he answered that the evaluation should start even before the speaker starts speaking. He asked us to raise the bar – w.r.t evaluations.

7. One of the table topics was “Do you believe in global warming?”

8. In the last TM meeting, some of the table topics were about gays.

9. Floris asked a question to the president, “When are we going to barbecue?”

10. Some of the 2nd time guests introduced themselves as non-paying guests. One of the guests said that she didn’t have high expectations.

11. I looked totally different, with extremely short hair, no mustache – a complete makeover.

12. Alex, a speaker, said that his professor said that Alex would soon make a start-up.

13. Shane said that she and his daughter never wear coat, even if it’s cold.

14. Since we don’t have fridge anymore at the meeting place, Floris brought some beers with him – they were not cold.

15. Floris evaluated Tobias’ speech. He said, I could call you Toa-bee-aas or To-bai-aas.

The Humor Monologue
1. Good evening Toastmasters, guests, and especially Osana and Sushi.
(Running gag. Make the same mistake that someone else kept making to get laughs. Good opener.)

2. Thank you for Toastmastering and Table topikking. I’m here for observational humoring.
(Adapting the ing-pattern for the observational humor theme.)

3. I’m Big Ball…a.
(Huge laughter. The Big Ball jokes were highlights of the meeting. I just added an ‘a’ to introduce myself as Bala.. and got more laughter.)

4. I am an expert at… making the audience sleep.
(Self deprecation)

5. My evaluation will start whenever my evaluator wakes up.
(Self deprecation again. Coming up with a different answer for the question “When should the evaluation start?” worked big time. Good response.)

6. I believe in global warming. We used to get it cold. But now we get it warm. [points to the non-cold beer on the table]
(Nice observation, and linking that fact to global warming. Good response.)

7. Last week, we had some table topics on gays. Today we’re continuing that with the theme – The sun will COME OUT.
(Absurd that the sun is gay. Best line of the monologue. Looking at the theme from a different angle.)

8. When I entered the meeting hall this evening, Winslow looked at my haircut, and told me, “Be seated wherever you want. And what are your expectations this evening?” Then I clarified, “I AM A PAYING MEMBER.”
(It was hard to recognize me and I used that for a gag. Followed by the topper, which was the opposite of non-paying guest.)

9. My professor told me, “I don’t have huge expectations from you. You’re probably going to work for someone… who works for someone… who works for someone… who is going to make a start-up.”
(Self deprecation. Another best line of the monologue.)

10. Indian Administrative Services, shortly called IAS, is one of the most respectable professions in India. So, if I were him, I wouldn’t want people to call me Toa-bee-aas or To-bai-aas, rather Tob-IAS.

11. Raise the bar. Or at least, raise the bar… becue question.
(Word play. Good response.)

12. I used to be a non-paying member. Then I settled my dues by stealing and selling Shanes’s and his daughter’s coats.
(Self deprecation – that I steal to pay my dues. And following the paying, non-paying pattern.)

13. Payment is due again in 2 months. Tell me if any of you don’t use your coats.
(Self deprecation again – that I intend to keep stealing to pay my dues.)

14. Have a nicing evening.
(Bookmark ending)

Leave a Reply

